2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

Can we apply this trick used by Musicians?

Hey all,

I've been trying to change my horrible swing into a good swing, but I've been doing the horrible one for 30 years, and it's really hard to change.

I can learn new things on guitar... been doing that for 30 yrs too.

In fact, learning new things is one of the primary goals on guitar... Not so much in golf.

So, it seems we musicians have been holding out on you golfers for a while, and I thought I'd share the secret.

NO MISTAKES

There. It's that simple. You practice your new move in such a way that you can do it flawlessly every time... no faster.

I don't care how slow you have to go. Go even slower until you can do it perfectly 100% of the time. Then keep doing it.

Only after you're getting bored doing this simple thing can you speed up - but only a tiny bit - and you must measure it somehow.

So all I have to do is never take a full swing, quit playing golf entirely, and just learn the new move - no ball - at a painfully slow speed?
Sounds easy!

• Haha 1

2017 Taylormade M2 (9.5 set to 9.0) Golf Pride Tour Wrap Midsize with 1 extra layer of tape on a Kuro Kage Silver Series 60 S

Ping i15 3 wood (15.5)

Ping i15 3 hybrid (20)

Ping i15 4 hybrid (23)

Mizuno MP-30 irons 4-PW 1150 tour s

Titleist Vokey Oil Can 52, 56

Wilson South Side 34"

Trying to get the right feel and self correcting is good at half speed which is what I do.  Then apply speed when you think you have it down.  Hit some balls afterwards to see if you've self corrected.  If not, then go back to square one and repeat.  However, I don't think that starting the motion at a painfully slow speed is productive. 

• Like 1

Callaway AI Smoke Paradym 💎💎💎9* - Tour AD VF-7TX

TM Qi10 Tour 15* - Diamana GT 80TX

TM Tour Issue Rescue 11 TP Deep Face Proto 16* - Ventus Black HB 9TX

New Level NLU-01 21* - KBS Hybrid Proto 105X

New Level 623-M 5-PW - MMT 125TX