2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

Did they get it backwards?

dgarland

I’m a phys ed teacher so I see plenty of sports being played. I have a theory that when the first people picked up a stick to hit a rock they got the right and left handed swings backwards.  The dominant hand might be better leading the swing. What do you guys think?

Cobra LTDx Driver
Titleist TS2 3 Wood
Titleist TS2 2h & 4h
Srixon Z585 5i

Srixon Z785 6-PW
Callaway MD4 50 & 54
Callaway PM Grind 58
Titleist Scotty Cameron Phantom 5.5

I think there's so much variance to this. Here's why, and maybe I'm just weird:
- I throw right handed

- Golf righty

- Eat lefty

- Write lefty,

- Shoot a handgun left-handed (but with my right eye)

- Shoot a rifle left handed (with my left eye)

- Shoot a bow right-handed

- Bowl right handed

- Kick a soccer ball with my left foot

When it comes to hand dominance, I'm not sure if there is more "backwards" than me. Lol. 

• Like 1

I was born left-handed, but as a child, my brain and being ambidextrous had me switch to right-handed for all my sports.  My left side has constraints, while my right side is where all my power and tenacity is. 

When we consider the Left Brain is logic and sense of time; and I play golf with the Right Brain, creative and imagination, I am dealing with theoretical opposites; so, maybe, but doubtful.

• TSR2 9.25° Tensei 1k Pro Red 61S
  • TSR2 15° Tour AD-VF 74S
  • T200 17° 2i Tensei AV Raw White Hybrid 90S
  • T100 3i & 4i MMT 95S
  • T100 5i-9i MMT 105S
  • T100 PW MMT 105S 113-SW.
  • SM10 F52.12, T58.4, DG200 127S
  • SC/CA Monterey
  • DASH -ProV1x or AVX

7 hours ago, dgarland said:

I’m a phys ed teacher so I see plenty of sports being played. I have a theory that when the first people picked up a stick to hit a rock they got the right and left handed swings backwards.  The dominant hand might be better leading the swing. What do you guys think?