Has anyone done a real test of used vs new balls?

Z1ggy16

I know the site that shall not be named did a test about scuffed covers but I'm referring to "new" 5a ball vs new from a box. 

I feel like I've read a few things here or there, some say a used ball is fine (assuming cover in great shape) and others say that water and the elements will cause issues quickly. 

I'm finally running low on balls and it's time for a buy coming up soon. I tend to buy a few dozen all at once which usually last me the season. I've purchased used 5a balls but DTC brands are starting to intrigue me as I'm a bit more price conscious lately, and then of course there's the tried and true brand new ProV if money isn't a concern. 

Hm...no science, just experience.  I live a few miles from the largest ball recycler in the USA.  They allow walk-ins and are incredibly friendly.  I've been buying ProV1s from them since 2019 at $20/doz until this year when they jacked up the price to $25/doz. 😄  I like balls with odd numbers and logos, so this is great for me to hand-pick the ones I want.  I don't go thru that many balls, maybe 2-3 dozen per year.  In this time I've had exactly two balls that I tossed after a few holes because they felt dead and lacked distance.

• Like 1

5 hours ago, Jeff58 said:

-The impact water will have on how far a golf ball flies depends on two things: how many layers in the golf ball and how long it's been in water. 

A two-piece golf ball -- typically the cheapest golf balls available -- actually loses less distance in the long haul compared to a ball with three or more layers. Both types of balls lose approximately six yards of total distance after eight days in water. However, two-piece golf balls will lose about 10 yards in total after three months in water, while multi-piece golf balls will lose approximately 12 yards in three months and 15 yards in six months underwater. -