Blades for Practicing and Improving Iron Play, any experience?

DCCarpenter

I've read a few posts referencing using blades for practicing iron play. Has anyone actually done this? Did it benefit them? Those PXG 0211STs are so cheap I could grab 2 different short irons with the right length and graphite shaft for short money.

I'm a newer player, 7 months in, I've broken 90 a few times from the standard men's tees usually shooting in the low-90s. 41 years old, no health issues though not the most flexible guy in the world. 

I've been lucky enough to join a country club nearby so I get to play 18 2 to 4 times a week weather permitting and practice once or twice on other days.

I'm still using the half set of hand me down irons I was gifted when I started playing so I could alternately purchase a cavity back set that fits my skill level for on course and range use. I believe in the 'It's not the arrow it's the indian' but I'm relatively tall and the irons I have were fitted to a 5'9 guy, I've done the floor to wrist measurement and I need to be +1/2 or +3/4" and what I have are - 3/4". Plus I am on WRX,  so obviously I like buying clubs.

Nike Titanium Forged Driver

Louisville Golf 3 & 5 Woods

Ping Eye 2 green dot  3 iron to Sand Wedge

Ping Anser 

31 minutes ago, DCCarpenter said:

I've read a few posts referencing using blades for practicing iron play. Has anyone actually done this? Did it benefit them? Those PXG 0211STs are so cheap I could grab 2 different short irons with the right length and graphite shaft for short money.

I'm a newer player, 7 months in, I've broken 90 a few times from the standard men's tees usually shooting in the low-90s. 41 years old, no health issues though not the most flexible guy in the world. 

I've been lucky enough to join a country club nearby so I get to play 18 2 to 4 times a week weather permitting and practice once or twice on other days.