2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

Taylormade Stealth Face Durability

albvert

F1 chassis are carbon and take 50+ g, so unless they got cheap with it, my guess is the face will hold up. But I'm no expert. 

• Like 1

Haywood 1 with Hzrdus Black RDX 70

Haywood 3W

Haywood 18* driving iron

Haywood MB irons 3-PW

Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g iron shafts

Haywood 52/10 and 56/12 wedges

Haywood mid mallet putter

Golf Pride Concept Helix grips 

"You're not good enough to get mad at your bad shots!" - Bill Murray

While CF structures can be superb at dealing with bending forces, the reason you don’t (and won’t) see CF faces on irons, and shouldn’t on FW’s and hybrids, is that they’re very poor dealing with point impacts.

A typical driver ball strike creates more than 2000 lbs of force. If you distribute that over the size and hardness of a large grain of sand for instance, you will get point dislocations, like the image above appears to be.

The lesson, which TM might have been good to share, is to check your ball and the club face for contamination before every shot.

• Like 1

Driver - SIM2 MAX / Ventus Blue 5S

FW - SIM2 MAX / Ventus Blue 6S

Hybrid - SIM2 MAX / Ventus Blue 7S

Irons - ZX5 / C-Taper Lite S

Wedges - SM9 50/08 56/10 60/04

Putter - Odyssey Ai-One Milled #7 T

33 minutes ago, Jeff58 said:

While CF structures can be superb at dealing with bending forces, the reason you don’t (and won’t) see CF faces on irons, and shouldn’t on FW’s and hybrids, is that they’re very poor dealing with point impacts.

A typical driver ball strike creates more than 2000 lbs of force. If you distribute that over the size and hardness of a large grain of sand for instance, you will get point dislocations, like the image above appears to be.

The lesson, which TM might have been good to share, is to check your ball and the club face for contamination before every shot.