2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Having first kid. How to keep my golf game going?

Chubbs91

55 minutes ago, klebs01 said:

Agree on expectations, reciprocate on care so mother can have personal time, involve them. It helps to get a cart later in the day and have the family ride and play along so the golf time is also family time. 

This or play super early(if possible) and be home sooner than later for the rest of the day.

I have two kids but I only ever been weekend warrior. 

2 hours ago, Chubbs91 said:

Looking for peoples insight. Right now as a school teacher I play like 4-5 rounds a week. Having my first kid here this spring. Wondering if anyone has some advice on how to keep the grind going with only being able to get to the course maybe 1 or 2 times a week. 

Without knowing your and wife's work and child care situations after the baby arrives, it really comes down to having a discussion with your wife about joint "sanity time". There's nothing wrong, and I'd argue it's a good thing, for both of you to have personal time away from the kids / each other.

When mine were little I had a guaranteed time for golf every Saturday morning. Rain or shine. I played a fair amount in the rain.

• Like 3

Ping G430 LST 10.5* : Ventus Red TR 7S

Titleist TSR2 4W : Tensei 1K Black 85-S

Mizuno CLK 19*: Ventus Blue HB-8S

Srixon ZX Utility #4: Nippon Modus3 125-S

Wilson Staff CB 5-PW : Nippon Modus3 125-S

Cleveland Zipcore 50, 54, 58: Nippon Modus3 125-S 

Piretti Potenza 370g : Breakthrough Technology Stability Shaft - 34"

6 minutes ago, jvincent said:

Without knowing your and wife's work and child care situations after the baby arrives, it really comes down to having a discussion with your wife about joint "sanity time". There's nothing wrong, and I'd argue it's a good thing, for both of you to have personal time away from the kids / each other.