I'm telling you guys...line on ball

12 minutes ago, getitdaily said:

Figure out how to use it. Figure out why you can't. 

From 10' and under AND from 35'+ it is just so much better using the line.

I was a "I can't use it, the line messes me up" guy...you have to retrain your eyes to what straight is.

Use the line and you'll putt better once you have retrained your eyes.

How long has it been working for you since you figured it out?

16 minutes ago, MonteScheinblum said:

A few things

2 weeks is not close to long enough to judge something.  This could just be coinciding with a good streak of putting.

Nothing works for everyone.  Forcing what worked for someone else is the bane of the amateur existence.

Line is almost irrelevant in putting.  Several putting experts have proved that to me, as do the stats.

Line may not be a sufficient cause, but it sure is a necessary one.

I previously went back and forth but been a big fan for years now since I started practicing with a line on the ball as well. It’s a little annoying to hit every putt on the practice green using a line but it really pays off imo. Helps me understand my tendencies with read, check my roll and I’m actually practicing how I play. 

• Like 2

To each his own.  I gave it an honest effort with line for several years along with a bunch of different styles mallets, no bueno for me.  I went back to a naked Anser mallet and putting the ball down with nothing visible except dimples, basically putting like I did when I was a kid and have slowly gotten better and better since.  I do believe it's important for everyone to experiment with what works best for them though.

• Like 3

2 hours ago, getitdaily said:

Figure out how to use it. Figure out why you can't. 

From 10' and under AND from 35'+ it is just so much better using the line.

I was a "I can't use it, the line messes me up" guy...you have to retrain your eyes to what straight is.