What are the best techniques for learning to stroke a Scotty Cameron special select Newport 2

IronWolf

I finally broke down and bought Scotty Cameron special select Newport 2, 34".

I have been desiring one for 20 years watching Tiger Woods and others top professionals execute flawless artistic pure strokes with them.

After watching Patrick Reed last weekend I do not regret the purchase.

Every time I tried one I realized they are truly like a scalpel for the professional. Lots of pushes, lots of pulls, clanking miss hits, could never bring myself to buy one.

Especially the 2020 select line,  Scotty Cameron says this putter is the closest he has ever made to a tour specification Newport putter, but made available to the public.

I have probably hit 2000, 10 foot putts in the last six weeks. Finally starting to learn the ins and outs of the putter.

But OMG, when I finally dial in the sweet spot with a good stroke......I have never felt a better putter, it delivers such amazing feel and control and just such a precise roll right into the center of the cup. The length of the blade has something to do with it I think the toe closing perfectly at impact causes the ball and the putter to release down the line and feels amazing compared to my other five putters really never felt anything like it off any of the other putter faces. Super addicting!

I actually did not realize it was such a low profile face, a very small face, that is the key most putters I only have to worry about  left and right miss hits, high and low on the face seems to be automatically forgiven.

The number one thing I have been struggling with is how horrible it feels when you miss the sweet spot high, above the centerline. Crack like a broken board

I added some 40 g weights to the bottom that actually seem to give a little more protection, better feeling on mishits.

I actually believe I am on the way to mastering it.