Unsolicited, on course advice

wkndhckr

I was lucky to have partners like you when I started playing. Partly why I survived the onslaught of bogey golf.

But also got lots of advice too, and still get it now and then even when in jest.

The drink at the turn is a great idea! I’ll have to pay for my fair share to future golfers I meet. Cheers!

I totally agree and I also find this same thing in basketball. I am a good shooter and coached in high school for 25 years. I also teach younger kids quite often. The moment I start talking about hand position on the ball, where your elbow should be and how to follow through I start shooting poorly. I usually start leaving every shot short, then overcompensate and start hitting the back of the rim. Now when I work with younger kids, I let them see me shoot before we begin, then once I start breaking down the shooting motion, I don't shoot from more that a few feet away.

I've had a similar experience. Just this past summer someone asked me to show them a shot that I'm pretty good at. I explained it and then completely failed to actually execute it. Quite embarrassing!

We all know the cliches about the muscle memory and unconscious processes, but there is real truth at the core of it. Too much thinking can be a real impediment to performance.

On the course I have an extremely repeatable set-up/preshot process, but the part that can't be seen is the letting go of as many thoughts as possible right before I swing.

• Like 1

TSi4 Tensei White AV RAW X-Stiff/Hzrdus Gen 4 Black Stiff

Stealth 5 wood with Ventus

Titleist TS2 7 wood with Ventus

Mizuno MP-64 KBS Tour Stiff

Mizuno T24 60 X

Mizuno T24 56 V

Mizuno T24 50 F

Ping Vault 2.0 Ketsch

I try not to provide on course suggestions unless someone asks. I carry a zero handicap and usually end up not getting asked many questions - maybe because they either don’t want to bug me or they don’t want to think they sound less than savvy.