Playing w/o Keeping Score?

acemandrake

Anyone else play without keeping score?

I've been doing it more as I find it enjoyable and relaxing. It could be I just like getting lost in thought.

FYI...I've been playing for 50 years so have seen/done most things to see/do on a course.

Does anyone else do this? If so, when and how often?

:golfer:

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

I stopped keeping score when I let go of my official GHIN in January. I don't play tournaments anymore so screw it. I figure if I can't keep track of how many over par I am in my head then I don't want to know anyway.

Ping G400 Max driver w/Aldila Rogue 125 Silver
Ping G425 5 wood & hybrid
Ping G30 irons w/Recoil 95

Ping G425 irons w/Accra ICWT 2.0 95
Ping Glide wedges w/Recoil 110
Ping Redwood Anser - the "real deal!"

I've been doing it more as I find it enjoyable and relaxing. It could be I just like getting lost in thought.

FYI...I've been playing for 50 years so have seen/done most things to see/do on a course.

Rochester?

Ever play Deerfield from the Black tees? I had a buddy that never kept score when we played there.

Well I'm constitutionally incapable of NOT knowing how many times I hit the ball. I play lots of solo rounds where there's no actual "score" per se because I'm hitting two balls on some shots, picking up without putting, whatever. But if you asked me afterward I could still think back and count up something pretty close to my "score" on each hole that I completed.

And I do tend to keep track of birdies. If I play a hole from tee to green with one ball and make the birdie putt that's "One". Love making birdies, wouldn't want to forget those!

Even if I was just out practicing my wife usually asks, "How'd you play?" when I get home. As long as I made a birdie some time during the round I'll say "Played good".