2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Was a flat-faced Driver ever made?

Barfolomew

I really want to try a flat-faced Driver.  Was a modern 460 sized one ever made? I never heard of one... did anyone make a prototype for fun? 

I know the curved face offers a trampoline effect for distance but I think it reeks havoc on accuracy as all know plenty about, even for the best!

But I'm no scientist i dont know the yardage lost by a flat face but it might be worth the trade off if you could find the fairway a lot more..... some even play a 3 wood cause they cant control a driver. 

I personally love driver and hit hard but think I could get a flat faced one out far enough to play lol but obviously got nothin to base that on...  I still got 2 spots left in my bag maybe I could play 2 drivers like Phil one for bombs and one for accuracy.

Edited by Barfolomew

Can't figure how to like my own posts

The bulge and roll on driver clubfaces is a design feature that counters gear effect.  It actually helps the ball maintain the intended flight on a slightly mishit shot.

• Like 4

Driver: Titleist 913 D3 8.5° A-1 setting Graphite Design YS-6+ 65g stiff

Wood:  Titleist 980F 17° Aldila NV stiff

Hybrid: Titleist 909H 21° Aldila Voodoo stiff 

Irons:  Titleist 716 AP2 4- W  DG AMT S300

Wedges: Titleist Vokey SM7  54°,  58° DG S200

Putter:  Odyssey White Hot #1 Tour

Ball: Titleist Pro V1

Someone made a flat-faced driver when metal woods were bumping out persimmon. Can't remember what company it was.

Also, I stumbled across this 1999 patent application for a Flat-Faced Driver.

• Like 1

What's In The Bag (As of April 2023, post-MAX change + new putter)

Driver:  Tour Edge EXS 10.5° (base loft); weights neutral   ||  FWs:  Calla Rogue 4W + 7W

Hybrid:  Calla Big Bertha OS 4H at 22°  ||  Irons:  Calla Mavrik MAX 5i-PW

Wedges*:  Calla MD3: 48°... MD4: 54°, 58° ||  PutterΨSeeMore FGP + SuperStroke 1.0PT, 33" shaft