So will Tiger call a penalty on himself at his OWN TOURNAMENT?

1356712

Comments

  • OldTomMorrisOldTomMorris Members Posts: 2,084 ClubWRX
    nbg352 wrote:



    That was an incredibly stupid thing to say on the part of the rules official that supposedly said that.


    Why is it stupid?




    Because its speculation there is no way he can know what the player did or didn't feel, to claim otherwise is stupid.
    Titleist 910D3 8.5°
    TaylorMade M3 15°
    Titleist CB (710) 3-PW
    Callaway Mack Daddy 4 Chrome 54° S Grind & 58° C Grind
    Scotty Cameron Studio Select Newport 2

    Titleist Pro V 1x
  • Krt22Krt22 Members Posts: 6,152 ✭✭

    nbg352 wrote:



    That was an incredibly stupid thing to say on the part of the rules official that supposedly said that.


    Why is it stupid?




    Because its speculation there is no way he can know what the player did or didn't feel, to claim otherwise is stupid.




    In which case it goes to the player, if the player says they could not tell, case closed.
  • nbg352nbg352 Members Posts: 8,320 ✭✭

    nbg352 wrote:



    That was an incredibly stupid thing to say on the part of the rules official that supposedly said that.


    Why is it stupid?




    Because its speculation there is no way he can know what the player did or didn't feel, to claim otherwise is stupid.


    Exactly. Woods said he didn't feel anything. The official agreed that in hitting a shot such as this, it would be very difficult to feel a double hit. The fact that you think it's stupid is probably reason enough for you to stay away from any officiating role.......
    R11S 8* square; Stock stiff
    Maltby KE4 14* 3w , Axe Excaliber R flex tipped 1"
    RBZ 25* hb; RBZstage 2 19* hb
    Mizuno MP30 5 - PW, AXE Excaliber stiff, Hogan Apex PC E Wedge (50*) TT DG s300
    GM Never Compromise GM2 putter
    54*, 58* TM TP wedges 3* flat
  • DatSliceDoeDatSliceDoe Camerons & Cobras One fairway overMembers Posts: 2,144 ✭✭
    No penalty.
  • OldTomMorrisOldTomMorris Members Posts: 2,084 ClubWRX
    nbg352 wrote:


    nbg352 wrote:



    That was an incredibly stupid thing to say on the part of the rules official that supposedly said that.


    Why is it stupid?




    Because its speculation there is no way he can know what the player did or didn't feel, to claim otherwise is stupid.


    Exactly. Woods said he didn't feel anything. The official agreed that in hitting a shot such as this, it would be very difficult to feel a double hit. The fact that you think it's stupid is probably reason enough for you to stay away from any officiating role.......




    With the rule as it is once Woods said he didn't feel anything case closed, no need for the rules official to start speculating.
    Titleist 910D3 8.5°
    TaylorMade M3 15°
    Titleist CB (710) 3-PW
    Callaway Mack Daddy 4 Chrome 54° S Grind & 58° C Grind
    Scotty Cameron Studio Select Newport 2

    Titleist Pro V 1x
  • GuiaGuia Members Posts: 8,693 ✭✭
    edited Nov 30, 2018 #67
    I reviewed that the film numerous times, there was definitely a backswing (2 inches maybe), so it was not a scoop or push. At the same time I suspect that with such a short backswing that the ball was hit twice, however, the video did not show it. Not sure it would be possible to get the ball out without a double hit and go that far.



    With no evidence to the contrary, you have to go with the. players statement.
  • nbg352nbg352 Members Posts: 8,320 ✭✭
    Yeah, it went about 10 feet, all of it down hill......
    R11S 8* square; Stock stiff
    Maltby KE4 14* 3w , Axe Excaliber R flex tipped 1"
    RBZ 25* hb; RBZstage 2 19* hb
    Mizuno MP30 5 - PW, AXE Excaliber stiff, Hogan Apex PC E Wedge (50*) TT DG s300
    GM Never Compromise GM2 putter
    54*, 58* TM TP wedges 3* flat
  • FargoRCFargoRC Posts: 572 ✭✭
    The rule changes can't come soon enough to stop BS discussions like this.
    •  G400 Max 9* Ping Tour 75x
    • Callaway GBB Epic 15* Diamana (white) D+ 80 
    • Cobra King F7 Hybrid 19.5* Fujikura Pro 75x
    • Adams Idea Pro A12 4-PW KBS Tour
    • Titleist Vokey SM6 52F, 56S, 60M
    • Scotty Cameron Select Newport M1
  • daleheaddalehead Members Posts: 1,441 ✭✭
    nbg352 wrote:

    dalehead wrote:


    So let me get this straight. Rules officials are no longer going to use slow motion replay to review possible rules infractions? The new standard is ask the player and if he doesn't realize he goofed up there is no penalty?




    Yep. If it can't be seen with the naked eye then all is good.

    And that is exactly how it should be.




    OK, no more video. No more guys calling up and saying "So and So" broke a rule. Thanks for clearing that up.
  • ShilgyShilgy Members Posts: 11,297 ✭✭
    Krt22 wrote:


    nbg352 wrote:



    That was an incredibly stupid thing to say on the part of the rules official that supposedly said that.


    Why is it stupid?




    Because its speculation there is no way he can know what the player did or didn't feel, to claim otherwise is stupid.




    In which case it goes to the player, if the player says they could not tell, case closed.
    Not quite completely true. If video at regular speed and not too "zoomed" is a clear double hit or scoop it would be a penalty.
    WITB
    Tools for the job!

    To paraphrase Dr Seuss: Don't cry because the round of golf is over-smile because it happened . :)

    Game is recovering from total ankle replacement. Getting there and glad to be pain free!
  • imakaveliimakaveli Moli Moli Moli Moli Tommy Tommy Tommy Tommy... Members Posts: 12,543 ✭✭
    It’s his event, don’t ruin the party guys 😏😏
  • nbg352nbg352 Members Posts: 8,320 ✭✭
    edited Nov 30, 2018 #73
    Shilgy wrote:

    Krt22 wrote:


    nbg352 wrote:



    That was an incredibly stupid thing to say on the part of the rules official that supposedly said that.


    Why is it stupid?




    Because its speculation there is no way he can know what the player did or didn't feel, to claim otherwise is stupid.




    In which case it goes to the player, if the player says they could not tell, case closed.
    Not quite completely true. If video at regular speed and not too "zoomed" is a clear double hit or scoop it would be a penalty.


    By "too zoomed" I suspect that means that it cannot be zoomed more than that which would be considered the view provided by the "naked" eye of a normally sighted person...
    R11S 8* square; Stock stiff
    Maltby KE4 14* 3w , Axe Excaliber R flex tipped 1"
    RBZ 25* hb; RBZstage 2 19* hb
    Mizuno MP30 5 - PW, AXE Excaliber stiff, Hogan Apex PC E Wedge (50*) TT DG s300
    GM Never Compromise GM2 putter
    54*, 58* TM TP wedges 3* flat
  • imakaveliimakaveli Moli Moli Moli Moli Tommy Tommy Tommy Tommy... Members Posts: 12,543 ✭✭
    Would have like to see the comments on this board if Poulter had done the same “shot” 😂😂
  • Frankensteins MonsterFrankensteins Monster Members Posts: 6,674 ✭✭
    He held the club behind the ball and used all wrists. I’ve done it before. The ball came out soft because he probably hit a lot of obstruction before it hit the ball. No penalty.
  • MadGolfer76MadGolfer76 Admiration is the state furthest from understanding. Members Posts: 19,841 ✭✭
    I used to get $5 for raking a yard.



    I guess inflation has gone up...
    Mizuno St-180 9.5
    Mizuno JPX 900 15
    Mizuno CLK 19, 22
    Mizuno JPX 900 5-Gw
    (Wedges TBD)
    (Putter TBD)
    Srixon Z-Star
    WITB
  • LondonerLondoner Posts: 1,166 ✭✭
    If thats not cheating it must be OK to just drag the ball into the hole with your putter, from 10 yards, 20 yards, wherever you like.
    Mizuno mp h5. 4-W KBS tour stiff 2 iron modus 3 stiff.
    taylormade m2 Driver + hl 3 wood
    ping anser
    Titleist sm6 50 +54
    Cleveland 60
  • LondonerLondoner Posts: 1,166 ✭✭


    He held the club behind the ball and used all wrists. I’ve done it before. The ball came out soft because he probably hit a lot of obstruction before it hit the ball. No penalty.
    it came out soft because he was dragging it!
    Mizuno mp h5. 4-W KBS tour stiff 2 iron modus 3 stiff.
    taylormade m2 Driver + hl 3 wood
    ping anser
    Titleist sm6 50 +54
    Cleveland 60
  • tatertottatertot Members Posts: 4,304 ✭✭
    Wonder if TC Chen felt a second hit?
    Driver: Adams Speedline Fast 11, 9°
    Fairway: Adams Fast 10, 15*
    Irons: Ping i200 3 iron, Ping iE1 4-PW
    Wedges: Titleist SM7, 48º; Titleist SM5, 54º & 58º
    Putter: Cleveland Classics Huntington Beach #1, 35"
  • TheGeekGolferTheGeekGolfer Just beat the Huskies! Go Cougs! Members Posts: 1,439 ✭✭
    Steele47 wrote:
    wildcatden wrote:


    Geez Tiger, it's the Hero Challenge not Augusta. Just take an unplayable and proceed.






    Perhaps this was a test run in prep for Augusta.


    Not sure why he didn't take an unplayable? Looks like it would have been a drop in the native sandy area. Which isn't that bad.
    wildcatden wrote:
    Geez Tiger, it's the Hero Challenge not Augusta. Just take an unplayable and proceed.


  • imakaveliimakaveli Moli Moli Moli Moli Tommy Tommy Tommy Tommy... Members Posts: 12,543 ✭✭
    Londoner wrote:


    If thats not cheating it must be OK to just drag the ball into the hole with your putter, from 10 yards, 20 yards, wherever you like.




    And if you miss the hole you can also stop the ball from going too far away 😂😂
  • NikeNerdNikeNerd Posts: 184 ✭✭
    tatertot wrote:


    Wonder if TC Chen felt a second hit?




    Doesn't matter what he felt. You can clearly see with the naked eye at full speed that there was a double hit. In Tiger's case the ONLY way you know that the ball was scooped was because of high definition slow motion replay
    [font=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Nike TW Vapor Speed 10.75°
    Ping Anser 14.5°
    Tiger Woods LTD Edition Irons (3-PW)
    Nike SV 52°, 60° and TW 60° Wedges
    Nike Method Origin B1-01
    Nike One [/font]· [font=arial, helvetica, sans-serif]Tour[/font]
  • Golfer4LifeGolfer4Life Bob Parsons Bodyguard, Chump! ClubWRX Posts: 2,152
    NikeNerd wrote:

    tatertot wrote:


    Wonder if TC Chen felt a second hit?




    Doesn't matter what he felt. You can clearly see with the naked eye at full speed that there was a double hit. In Tiger's case the ONLY way you know that the ball was scooped was because of high definition slow motion replay




    Thank you for stating the fact, he did scooped the ball.
    PXG Derangement Syndrome, it is real.......<br /><br />Equipment:<br /><br />A bag full of PXG’s<br />Non Titleist Welded Neck 35/330g SC 009<br /><br />“Check your Ego at the Club House and Play the Correct Tees”
  • LondonerLondoner Posts: 1,166 ✭✭
    imakaveli wrote:

    Londoner wrote:


    If thats not cheating it must be OK to just drag the ball into the hole with your putter, from 10 yards, 20 yards, wherever you like.




    And if you miss the hole you can also stop the ball from going too far away &#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;


    just keep dragging it in a loop and have another go. &#55358;&#56611;
    Mizuno mp h5. 4-W KBS tour stiff 2 iron modus 3 stiff.
    taylormade m2 Driver + hl 3 wood
    ping anser
    Titleist sm6 50 +54
    Cleveland 60
  • GolfnutgalenGolfnutgalen Members Posts: 2,499 ✭✭
    He didn't have much (any?) of a backswing which is okay if he was addressing the club well behind the ball. I can't tell from these camera angles if that is the case.
  • NudgerNudger Members Posts: 25
    Well if that was not scooped out of there then show me what is. That ball was on the club face for about 10/12 inches. I think we'll see more of this on the tour now this has been passed.
    Callaway Fusion driver Hzrdus shaft.
    TM V steel II 5 wood with UST recoil shaft.
    Titleist 909 17 degree hybrid.
    Titleist 909 21 degree hybrid.
    Srixon Z 785 irons Modus 105 shafts.
    Vokey 200 series 51 and 58.
  • LondonerLondoner Posts: 1,166 ✭✭
    Oh come on guys. He dragged it out with the club! Its cheating plain and simple.
    Mizuno mp h5. 4-W KBS tour stiff 2 iron modus 3 stiff.
    taylormade m2 Driver + hl 3 wood
    ping anser
    Titleist sm6 50 +54
    Cleveland 60
  • nbg352nbg352 Members Posts: 8,320 ✭✭
    tatertot wrote:


    Wonder if TC Chen felt a second hit?


    Yep, according to his interview, he said he felt it.

    It was also visible to the naked eye. No slo mo or zooming of cameras was necessary. Everyone in the vicinity saw it very clearly.
    R11S 8* square; Stock stiff
    Maltby KE4 14* 3w , Axe Excaliber R flex tipped 1"
    RBZ 25* hb; RBZstage 2 19* hb
    Mizuno MP30 5 - PW, AXE Excaliber stiff, Hogan Apex PC E Wedge (50*) TT DG s300
    GM Never Compromise GM2 putter
    54*, 58* TM TP wedges 3* flat
  • Darth PutterDarth Putter Members Posts: 4,585 ✭✭
    quote-when-a-rules-man-gives-you-a-ruling-that-s-it-amen-gary-player-105-84-50.jpg



    And the double hit rule goes away at the end of the year.
    swing is irrelevant, score is everything

    just say NO.... to practice swings
  • nbg352nbg352 Members Posts: 8,320 ✭✭
    edited Nov 30, 2018 #90
    Londoner wrote:


    Oh come on guys. He dragged it out with the club! Its cheating plain and simple.


    How can a ball that is ahead of him be dragged forward when Woods was behind it?

    That is not possible...
    R11S 8* square; Stock stiff
    Maltby KE4 14* 3w , Axe Excaliber R flex tipped 1"
    RBZ 25* hb; RBZstage 2 19* hb
    Mizuno MP30 5 - PW, AXE Excaliber stiff, Hogan Apex PC E Wedge (50*) TT DG s300
    GM Never Compromise GM2 putter
    54*, 58* TM TP wedges 3* flat
  • Darth PutterDarth Putter Members Posts: 4,585 ✭✭
    imakaveli wrote:


    Would have like to see the comments on this board if Poulter had done the same "shot" &#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;




    STONE HIM!



    SHOOT HIM IN THE BACK!!!



    BANNED FOR LIFE!



    TIGER NEVER WOULD HAVE GOT AWAY WITH THIS!
    swing is irrelevant, score is everything

    just say NO.... to practice swings
Sign In or Register to comment.