What difference could a new set of irons make?

ParHunter

I’ve been playing my Mizuno JPXPro 800 for nearly 10 years now and my long irons 6-4 are from my even older set MX-900. The irons are still in good condition. The clubs were custom fitted at the time.

In this time I’ve gone from about a 17 hdc to an 11 hdc and my aim is single figures. I’ve shot three 78s in the last few months so this is hopefully a realistic goal (only one was in a qualifier though -UK).

I told myself that if I reach single figures I would treat myself to a new set but I am wondering whether a new set could actually help me to get there.

How much more consistent length could I expect from properly fit new irons? If I could reduce the difference between a ok-ish Hit shot and a flushed one that would certainly help with my score.

i don’t expect a new iron to help much with dispersion (left-right) but if it could reduce the dispersion in length than that would be an argument to update sooner rather than later.

What has your experience been after changing set?

I typically score around 80 and love my G410 irons. Best part of my game, if I could play my driver anywhere near as well as my irons then I’d be a single figure handicapper easily. Some people say that distance dispersion isn’t good with cavity backs, I would disagree totally with that statement, mine go he distance I expect them to consistently and accurately, a really really poor shot may take 5% off the distance.

I don't think that they would make that much of a difference if you hit your irons well. Getting lower is about minimizing misses and making sure you can recover from them to not have a big number. My best scores were 3 years ago with a set of MP33's that I cut an inch short, didn't get the lofts, lies or SW's checked and had grips I hated on them.

My main issue isn't iron related currently and yet I still keep buying iron sets...

• Like 1

What's In The Ping Moonlite:
Ping Rapture '14 13*
Ping Rapture DI 18*