Does anyone carry a strong 3 wood? If so, why?

mholmstrom

Basic Question, do you carry a strong 3 wood (less than 15 degrees) and if so, why? 

My Driver total distance is 260-270.  I started playing the Cobra F7 3W a few years ago adjusted to 14 degrees, which can get me 240-250 total distance.

Most courses i play are 6500 yds so the strong 3 wood is what I need to reach many of the par 5's in two. More importantly, I have a lot of confidence with it off the tee, so if driver isn't cooperating, I have a comfortable Plan B, going to the "hot" 3 wood off the tee, without giving up much distance. Once in awhile i stripe the 3 wood 260+ and start thinking, wow now i know what Henrick Stenson feels like. haha. 

Edited by mholmstrom
  • Like 1

DRIVER: Cobra Speedzone 10.5°  UST Elements Gold 6F4 

3-4 WOOD: Cobra King F7  14° Fujikura Pro 65S 

3 HYBRID: Titleist 910H  19° Diamana Ahina 90S 

IRONS 5-PW: Taylor Made P7-MC  Nippon  Modus  Tour 130S

GW: Titleist Vokey SM 8 F Grind  50.08 

SW: Titleist Vokey SM8 S Grind 54.10

LW: Titleist Vokey SM8 S Grind 58.10 

P: Scotty Cameron Select Newport 2 Black 

BALL: Taylor Made TP5 Pix 2.0

35 minutes ago, mholmstrom said:

Basic Question, do you carry a strong 3 wood (less than 15 degrees) and if so, why? 

My Driver total distance is 260-270.  I started playing the Cobra F7 3W a few years ago adjusted to 14 degrees, which can get me 240-250 total distance.

Most courses i play are 6500 yds so the strong 3 wood is what I need to reach many of the par 5's in two. More importantly, I have a lot of confidence with it off the tee, so if driver isn't cooperating, I have a comfortable Plan B, going to the "hot" 3 wood off the tee, without giving up much distance. Once in awhile i stripe the 3 wood 260+ and start thinking, wow now i know what Henrick Stenson feels like. haha. 

I have a similar story and distances to you re par 5's and driver co-operation.