2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

The Hardest Shot in Golf

PostandGhost

I saw this video the other day and it really shocked me.  This is going to sound like I'm questioning a neuroscientist.  I'm sure he has tons of data backing his hypothesis and I would like to see some more information about his studies, specifically if it varies by golfer's ability.  The TLDR, or the TLDW, is that he believes the two hardest shots are the ones after a bad shot, i.e. an out of bounds ball, and the shot after a missed makable putt.  

First, the provisional shot is the easiest shot in golf for me.  I'm a terrible driver of the golf ball somehow my provisional is always long and straight.  Once I pump one out of bounds, obviously I'm angry but there's also a sigh of defeat and my internal dialogue basically says "Can't get any worse", which frees me up to pound a drive.  I've always said that if they had a provisional golf tour, I would be the leading money winner every year.  I would be interested to see what the PGA Tour average is for players hitting back to back balls out of bounds.  The bubba ball is undefeated for me.  It's kind of the same reason why I think it's easier to make a 10 footer for bogey than make a 10 footer for birdie.  Even if I hit a bad drive that stays in bounds, an 8 or 9 on the Doctor's scale, I still feel no pressure on the next shot because I'm great with my irons, especially when there's pine straw under my feet.  I guess I've had a lot of practice.