2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Should I Buy a Golf Store?

NavyGolf

Have a bit of a situation. 

I will start by saying I have very little experience owning and operating a business. I ran a pretty profitable small business out someones detached garage for a year before joining the Navy 11 years ago but I did not have to experience start up costs or taxes or anything like that. Pretty much PnL, customer service, manufacturing and shipping/receiving. Now that I’m out of the service and have established a career I’ve been thinking about this golf store in town and how it’s in a great location in a town of about 13 thousand people but the ownership has not kept up with current golf trends what so ever. 

It just so happens that the guy who owns it is thinking about getting out of it here soon due to some health issues. The town has a pretty popular golf course with a healthy membership but everybody I talk to about golf equipment ranging anywhere from finding a putter grip to doing a driver fitting they all say they have to drive an hour and a half in one of three directions or order it online because they know this store in town isn’t going to have it. 

I am pretty obsessed with the golf swing and golf equipment/fitting so I would be leaning more towards offering a custom fitting experience and that being the main focus of the business. If any one has some small business or golf store ownership experience and would like to impart some wisdom that would be greatly appreciated. 

• Like 1

Would be intrigued if anyone has more information on the golf store business model. Hoping you get a good response.