Did I just make an idiotic decision?

Mobert19

A few days ago I bought a set of MP-20 blades here on WRX. I’m playing off a 6.3 right now and just started breaking 80 in my last 10 rounds fairly consistently. I’ve been playing twice a week for the last 4 months. Prior to that probably once or twice every 2-3 months. 
I went for a fitting and ended up getting a full set of ZX5 irons with modus 120S shafts which have immensely contributed to my improved iron game (came from Ping G). I was never a consistent iron player but really have turned the corner with the help of increased practice and playing time and these clubs. 

Also, the MPs are coming with DG S300. Lie may have to be addressed but that’s another story. 

Anyways, like many others here, I get sucked into checking out gear and really liked the looks of the MP-20s. I figured life’s short and just get them and see what happens. 

I’m now thinking this is dumb. I’m playing so well with the Srixons why did I go and potentially mess this up? I guess we’ll see. What do you all think? Good decision or just immensely stupid?

• Like 2

Part of the fun about golf is all the equipment choices. I have changed my irons recently to blades even though I shoot in the 90's because I believe they will help me lower my hc. I have plenty of clubhead speed and play a draw what I need is less offset and a reminder to swing within myself. I just bought another putter a copy of the Wilson 8802. I think its realistic to say w/in a year I will be in the 80's consistently and a big part of that will be because of getting the right equipment.

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

"Shirtsleeve" swing technique:

1. Setup: Elbows bent forearms pressed together against shaft slightly forward of center with "Hogan" "active/flexed" leg tension left foot turned out slightly and the right leg slightly farther to the right - weight mostly on balls of feet butt of left hands sits on the top of the grip with very light grip.