2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

When did you start to see a “decline” in your game?

caeye0710

Just curious to gather other people’s thoughts on this. 

Back in 2008 when I worked in the industry and played about every day, I was a +1 handicap albeit I generally played at a couple courses I was completely comfortable with. 

I understand the notion that once you get older and start a family, golf takes a backseat for most people. 

However, at 33 I’ve started to notice that I’m just not the player I used to be. To give a bit of context, I’m healthy and active apart from seemingly fighting a pinched nerve in my neck a couple times a year. 

I used to swing around 115-117ish with a driver, and nowadays I’m lucky if I’m around 110. I also find that my body doesn’t allow me to make the same moves anymore. I still shoot (sort of) the same scores - somewhere in the 70s with the occasional 80-83 and I might break par once or twice a year, but it’s just flat out ugly and uncomfortable golf.  

High toe or fans with the irons, drivers that curve left too much, and I have no idea if I’m going to make or miss a 5-footer. Lucky my wedge game never left me or it would be embarrassing. 

For those of you that got a bit “older”, how did you adjust to changes in your game, ability, and body over time?

And yes: I know 33 isn’t old per say. But it sure as hell feels like it. Lol. 

I also know a lot of this is based off getting lessons and practicing, but like most it’s just not an option for me. I’m in a situation of just dealing with it since I can’t commit the extra time. 

I am 50 and hitting it almost as far as ever, playing better, better putter than ever and only practicing a few days a week and playing once or twice a week.