Can forgiveness become a bad thing?

CW13

I started playing this summer and im

currently shooting in the mid 90s. I currently play Titleist 716 CBs (I bought them used and I know they’re obviously way to advanced for me) I’m looking into getting more forgiveness to help with consistency and such. I’m wondering if down there road (assuming I improve) that forgiveness will ever hold me back to where it’s better to just learn on my current irons?

I’m coming at it from a tennis perspective, I currently play pretty high level tennis and my racquets are the equivalent of blades (heavy, smaller head size, etc). If I ever tried to use a beginner type of racquet I know my game would suffer significantly. So I was wondering if golf clubs function that same way once you get to a certain level.  

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

7 minutes ago, CW13 said:

currently shooting in the mid 90s. I currently play Titleist 716 CBs (I bought them used and I know they’re obviously way to advanced for me) I’m looking into getting more forgiveness to help with consistency and such. I’m wondering if down there road (assuming I improve) that forgiveness will ever hold me back to where it’s better to just learn on my current irons?

I’m coming at it from a tennis perspective, I currently play pretty high level tennis and my racquets are the equivalent of blades (heavy, smaller head size, etc). If I ever tried to use a beginner type of racquet I know my game would suffer significantly. So I was wondering if golf clubs function that same way once you get to a certain level.